Options to resolve a seat belt violation depend on how many seat belt violations you have had.
This is my first seat belt violation
On your first seat belt violation, you can reduce the cost of the citation by completing an approved online course within 30 days. This will cost $12, but upon providing proof of completion to the court it will waive the $45 fine. If you want this option follow these steps:
Step 1: Go to the Utah Safety Council Approved Seat Belt Course. Pay for the course and complete it.
Step 2: Provide proof of completion by emailing it to firstname.lastname@example.org, bringing it in person to 97 E Center, Orem, Utah 84057 or fax it to 801-724-3934.
Step 3: Verify your proof was received and your case is closed.
I have had a seat belt violation before
If you have had a prior seat belt violation, you do not qualify for a reduction by taking an approved course. Your options are to pay it to close it or to schedule a hearing.
Pay to Close: If you want to pay to close, go to orem.org/payments to process the payment.
Schedule Hearing: If you want to schedule a hearing, please complete a Hearing Request Form.
Need an extension?
If you need an extension to complete the steps above, you can contact the court clerks at 801-724-3900 within 20 days of your citation to see if you qualify for an additional 30 day extension.